The presentation of AP Vojvodina at the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe

The potentials of the AP Vojvodina were presented on 18th October 2017 in the Council of Europe in Strasbourg, during the 33rd Session of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities (CLRA) held 18-20 October 2017. The presentation of Vojvodina under the title “Vojvodina flowing on into the future“ was jointly organized by the Provincial Government, European Affairs Fund of AP Vojvodina and Vojvodina Development Agency.

The delegation of the Provincial Government, led by Ognjen Bjelić, Provincial Secretary for Regional Development, Interregional Cooperation and Local Self-Government, with the participation of the representatives of the European Affairs Fund of the AP Vojvodina, Vidosava Enderić, Director of the Fund, and Srđan Mačkić, Head of the Vojvodina European Office in Brussels, held a meeting with Gudrun Mosler-Törnström, President of CLRA, when a number of topics were opened and the activities and potentials of the Vojvodina Development Agency were presented.

The Provincial Secretary emphasized that Vojvodina, as a multi-ethnic environment, was one of the good examples in terms of strengthening democratic processes at the level of authorities closest to citizens. He indicated that it was supported by the fact that the province had almost 70 media broadcasting or publishing their programme in minority languages, and that cultural diversity was additionally enriched with five cultural institutions of national minorities.

The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe gathers the representatives of over 200,000 units of local and regional authorities from 47 Member States. The CLRA is one of the main bodies of the Council of Europe, which role is to promote local and regional democracy, improve local and regional governance and strengthen authorities’ self-government.

The presentation, within which a short promotional film about Vojvodina was also shown, was attended by Andreas Kiefer, Secretary General of the Congress, and Gunn Marit Helgesen, President of the Chamber of Regions of the Congress.