Cross-border cooperation program Montenegro - Serbia

IPA: 8,400,000.00 euros
Total (IPA + co-financing): 9,734,117.65 euros
Duration of the program:
01. January 2021 – December 31, 2027


Additional information:

The cross-border cooperation program between the Republic of Serbia and Montenegro will be implemented within the Instrument for Pre-accession Support 2021-2027 (IPA III) with the aim of promoting good neighborly relations, encouraging integration into the Union and improving socio-economic development through joint local and regional initiatives.

Legal basis for the development of the cross-border program: Regulation (EU) 2021/1529 of the European Parliament and of the Council of September 15, 2021 on the establishment of the Instrument for Pre-Accession Support (IPA III).

With this instrument, the EU continues to provide a legal framework for providing financial assistance to candidate countries and potential candidates in their efforts to encourage political, economic and institutional reforms with the ultimate goal of full membership in the European Union.

The Serbia-Montenegro cross-border cooperation program 2021-2027 is the third generation of the cross-border cooperation program between the two countries and is supported through the Instrument for Pre-Accession Support of the European Union. It incorporates lessons learned from the implementation of the cross-border cooperation program 2014-2020 with the same participating countries in order to further strengthen and expand the scope of cooperation between beneficiaries. The program was designed based on the main findings of the situational and SWOT analysis.

Priority 1: Encouraging employment, labor mobility and social and cultural inclusion in the program area

The specific goal within this thematic priority is: • To improve the quality of public health and social services for the inclusion of marginalized groups in the program area.

Priority 2: Encouraging tourism and cultural and natural heritage

The specific goal within this thematic priority is: • To improve and promote a jointly coordinated cross-border tourist offer based on protected cultural and natural heritage.

Serbia, Montenegro

Republic of Serbia: 10 municipalities (Nova Varoš, Priboj, Prijepolje, Sjenica, Kraljevo, Novi Pazar, Raška, Tutin, Vrnjačka Banja and Ivanjica)

Republic of Montenegro: 14 municipalities (Andrijevica, Berane, Bijelo Polje, Gusinje, Kolašin, Mojkovac, Nikšić, Petnjica, Plav, Pljevlja, Plužine. Rožaje, Šavnik and Žabljak.

State administration bodies, chambers, development agencies, science and technology parks, entrepreneurship centers, local/regional self-government units, public institutions, Local Action Groups (LAGs), utilities, companies, research/educational/scientific institutions, public hospitals , health centers, civil society organizations, various non-governmental organizations, tourist boards, small and medium-sized enterprises, from both participating countries.


Zore Tomasevic 5

31 300 Prijepolje




Ive Andrića 1, 84 000 Bijelo Polje, MONTENEGRO

Phone: +382 50 682 202


All relevant documents can be found on the website: